2020 Award Winners - Leadership Awards

Community Leadership Awards

Australian Defence Force Long Tan Leadership and Teamwork Award

Year 10 winner: Che Connolly

Year 12 winner: Rohan Groves

This national awards programme has been created to acknowledge the achievements of young people who have demonstrated outstanding qualities of leadership and teamwork, either within their school or in the wider community.

Both Che and Rohan abundantly demonstrate the qualities of leadership and teamwork in supporting others, being of service and always giving their best.

edit_img_9234.jpg edit_img_9242.jpg

Catholic Leadership Awards

John Hughes Service Award

Winner: Tomás Holohan

The John Hughes Service Award is presented to a student who has contributed a significant number of hours to the College's Catholic Service Learning programme, and in doing so, has shown selfless, exemplary and outstanding service to the community and parish in which he lives.

Tomás has demonstrated outstanding service to the community. He has initiated many new service activities and contributed weekly to existing programs such as Good Start Breakfast and St Patrick's Community Centre.

Tomas exemplifies service learning and is a beacon for his younger peers, having attended junior service programs and assisted in the coordination of them - most notably the Year 7 Adopt a Beach program and Meals for Manna.

In his role as Service Prefect, Tomas has assisted in introducing many to the delights of service and the rewards it brings for all.


Fremantle Cricle of the Catenian Association Ministry Award

Winner: Rohan Groves

This award is presented to the student who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the sacramental life of the College, and to the Catholic Church and its teachings.

Throughout the year, Rohan has demonstrated he is a highly dependable young man who has made a serious commitment to CBC's EREA values in his role as Ministry Prefect, his regular attendance at Thursday morning mass, his service to the College as Extraordinary Eucharistic Minister, his enthusiastic participation in the Kairos retreat as a student in 2019 and now as an inspired student leader in 2020.

We congratulate Rohan for being a student ambassador of strong ethical, moral and Christian values in the Edmund Rice Tradition.


Luke Dullard Award for Personal Growth

Winner: Ben Mitchell

Luke Richard Dullard was a former student at CBC Fremantle. He attended the College from 1982, graduated in 1989 and then continued his studies at university. He enjoyed eight very happy years at the College, finding success in his academic studies, sport and music. Unfortunately, after a brave fight with cancer, Luke passed away in 2003. In his honour, his family wished to establish an award in his name that encouraged other graduates from our College to reach their potential.

The Luke Dullard Award for Personal Growth recognises a student who has demonstrated considerable personal growth in their time at CBC Fremantle, and was this year presented to Ben Mitchell.


Rotary Awards for House

Kelly House winner: Michael Gaynor
Morgan House winner: Lawson Hinton
O'Connor House winner: Jonas Brown
Patrick House winner: Rohan Groves
Rice House winner: Jimmy McKenzie
Samson House winner: Lucas Cikara

These awards are presented to students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to their respective House over the course of their final year at the College.

We thank the Rotary Club of Fremantle for their support of these awards.

edit_img_9234.jpg edit_img_9234-2.jpg edit_img_9234-2.jpg
edit_img_9234-2.jpg edit_img_9234-2.jpg